15
Dec
08

Elinchrom vs Made in China

Hi,

As you may have read in a previous post,  I bought 2 months ago a pair of Elinchrom style RX600. They are really great. This is a very good buy. But accessories are very expensive. I bought some at the same time Honeycomb, small umbrella, small softbox, but when I saw the price of the big softbox, I decided to postpone the investment.

Well, last Saturday, I needed to do family portrait. So I bought an hexagonal softbox 120cm made in china.

Why made in china?

First, because in Malaysia, as far as I know, you can not find Elinchrom.

Second, because instead of RM1,300 for the Elinchrom,  I paid RM 174 for the made in China.

Any difference? The pictures are the same. Why spending so much?

Response:

  • To build my Elinchrom Softbox, I need approximately one and half minute
  • To build the made in china one, I needed 20 mins!!! But more importantly, you can not dismount it.

Luckily, I am planning to buy a pickup, so I left it like that. But if you need to shoot in location, just forget it!!!

What happened to Qyvonia? ya, I know, I was supposed to shoot her on Saturday. She had to cancel for personal reason, so shot the family portrait and even my auto-portrait.

I will be processing the pics this week.

Cheers,

1 Response to “Elinchrom vs Made in China”


  1. February 27, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading
    it, you are a great author. I will make certain to bookmark your
    blog and will come back very soon. I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice morning!


Leave a Reply

My Websites…

My Flickr - Latest 6

Past Musings

Where are you from?

Blog Stats

  • 27,040 hits

