16
Nov
08

How to make Calvados? (2)

Hi there,

We have now our cidre (cider), which will be the base to make our Calvados.

What we will need to do to obtain our Calvados is to bring the temperature of the cider around 78’C.

Not 100’C !!! If you heat it too much, you will get water inside your Calvados. And everyone knows that water is not good for wealth!!!

800px-distillation_psf

I found this very nice schema on wiki.

The Impure Liquid is our cider. At 78’C, the alcohol will evaporate and go to the right. We need these alcohol gas to become liquid again.

We use cold water to decrease the temperature in the tube and transform the alcohol gas into CALVADOS first distillation.

Then, you take the distiller liquid and you repeat the distillation process a second time.

Now, you’ve got a calvados that you will be able to drink in 8 to 25 years time, depending how patient you are and what taste you are looking for.

OH!!!! sorry, you will need to put your calvados in a barrel 2/3 filled to age. Not more. The wood of the barrel influences the taste of the calvados. During our visit, we were told that some factories have barrels of more than 100 years old, with the oldest at over 400 years, and all are still being used in production.

Please give me your feedback in 8 years.

This is what the professional use:

france_102008_074_small

9 Responses to “How to make Calvados? (2)”


  1. June 18, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Nice explanation! Very simple and clear. Do you know where I should look for more detailed information? Maybe any advices to which producers it would be possible to have short time job? Just want to get closer to production of this wonderful drink.

  2. June 19, 2010 at 12:38 am

    Hi, more or less every farm in my region, Normandie in France, make its own calvados. But there is the big producer, “Chateau de Breuil” that does very good calvados. you can Google it. I guess they hire people in August/September.

    Cheers,

  3. January 31, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and
    i am truly happy to read everthing at alone place.

  4. May 2, 2013 at 3:34 am

    There’s definately a lot to know about this subject. I love all the points you’ve made.

  5. June 20, 2013 at 4:28 am

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?

    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

    • June 20, 2013 at 9:48 am

      Hi Josephine. To be honest, I don’t care. This blog is a place for me to share information with everyone. I do not think I own the process to make Calvados… so if people wants to copy/paste instead of referencing my website, it’s not ethical but let it be…

  6. June 24, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

  7. June 25, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    Thank you for the information. Could you perhaps elaborate a little on the process of making cider. What goes in it and how?


Leave a Reply

My Websites…

My Flickr - Latest 6

Past Musings

Where are you from?

Blog Stats

  • 27,040 hits

