20
Sep
08

Profoto vs Prophoto

Hi Everyone,

After my two previous posts outside the photography area, I am back to share with you an amazing thing …

I went this morning to the Direct Photo shop, in Warisan City-View Cheras, Jalan Cheras, Kuala Lumpur to buy a new backdrop for my next studio photoshoot.

From my last outdoor photoshoot, I have learned that it is very important to have one studio backlight when you shoot with your on camera flash. It prevents all kinds of ugly shadows.

So I enquired on the price of a powerpack for one light 400W, which is enough for a backlight.

Ken proposed me a prophoto 400W powerpack + one strobe for RM 1,7xx.

Prophoto, prophoto, prophoto ……. PROFOTO!!!

When he told me PROFOTO, to me it was PROFOTO … RM 1,7xx was pretty cheap, but on the powerpack, it was written PROPHOTO!!!

PROFOTO is made in Europe

PROPHOTO is made in China

I remember to have read on shutterasia forum the someone’s post saying that prophoto is a low end product, and Shaolin Tiger replied … “NO, profoto is high end” … In fact, they were both right. It depends how do you write it…

Difference in term of price?

Yes, of course. It is USD 600 vs USD 4,000

Difference in term of quality?

Yes, of course. After 10 shoots, the Prophoto looses 1/2 stop, after 15 shoots, it looses 1 stop. The Profoto stays equal from beginning to end.

By the way, Ken sells both Prophoto and Profoto.

Result, I did not buy anything. I’m actually trying to get feedback on the AlienBees, the Vagabond II… Do you use it? How is the white? White or Yellowish?

Thanks!

2 Responses to “Profoto vs Prophoto”


  1. September 20, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    I liked the AlienBees alot when I was running my portrait studio. Great value, good light, sturdy stands for kit pricing.

    Many of the other portrait and wedding photographers in my area were using them as well, which is how I found out about them.

    Everyone I know personally, who has used them, either shortly or for longer stints, has loved them for their reliability and pricing.

    That’s my experience with AlienBees anyway.

    Damien Franco


Leave a Reply

My Websites…

My Flickr - Latest 6

More Photos

Past Musings

Where are you from?

Blog Stats

  • 26,858 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

