28
Aug
08

Anonymous Insult on RAW format

This post is for the person who left an insult message on my blog because he disagrees with what I said in my post “White Balance vs RAW format”.

I have spammed him because he had not enough balls to identify himself.

Never mind, let’s reply to the IP 219.93.237.26 living in Australia (thanks to WHOIS)

http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=219.93.237.26

I have written that I don’t like to shoot in RAW format.

Why?

Let’s imagine that you have to shoot a race … It happened to me a week ago. I took around 500 pictures.
Do you really want to process the 500 pictures? or do you prefer to transfer the pictures from your camera straight to internet because you got the right exposure and the right white balance when you took the picture?

Same for Studio Photography, I will shoot in JPEG.

When do I shoot in RAW?

Outdoor or in a very challenging situations like high contrast pictures.

Does this make sense?

To do right the first time when you can … this is a principle of life … be proactive more than reactive.

Cheers

3 Responses to “Anonymous Insult on RAW format”


  1. August 28, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Getting insults from anonymous readers are part of being a blogger. There will always be people who disagree with you, jealous of you, etc. You just have to get used to having these kind of people roaming in blogosphere.

    Btw, if IP 219.93.237.26 comes from Australia, how come it’s not captured on your ClustrMaps?

  2. 2 geraldblondel
    August 29, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Julie: ClustrMaps is not real-time. it is refreshed once a day. Now you have the address of this guy on the map šŸ˜‰

  3. December 29, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I agree on you with your assertions towards jpeg but I really just got used to talking photos in raw. IMO, I may not always have a gray card or a piece of white paper. Also, i prefer to slightly tinge the photos to my tastes. but to each his own. your blog, is very informative sir. and I also think that you MORE than deserve to have your opinion. and funnily, I set the custom white balance before shoots as well yet still shoot in RAW.


Leave a Reply

My Websites…

My Flickr - Latest 6

Past Musings

Where are you from?

Blog Stats

  • 26,929 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

