26
Aug
08

Quest for a model

In my quest to become an accomplished semi-pro photographer, i need to build my portfolio. It is at this moment that you stop asking your friends to model for you and try to find A MODEL.

As a blogger, the natural reflex is to open a new page and Google MODEL PHOTOGRAPHY and your country.

You discover plenty of agencies and websites. You just need to register yourself to get your access – which is limited if you don’t pay – to a model database.

Wonderful !

Oh, I’ve just forgotten … when you register as photographer, they ask for your portfolio … On one, I’ve used Angeline and Sarah’s pictures. On the other one, I used Lucie 🙂

Let’s come back to the Model Database. Fill in your criteria … and voila, you have 250 models appearing. You choose one, write her an email describing your project, your idea, the location, etc.

No reply.

Never mind, write to another one, changing a bit your text; maybe the wording was not right the first time.

No reply.

After 5 / 6, you just really want to write … “Oi, are you free on this date lah?”

This is what happened using the website … http://www.jurgita.com

So I asked another photographer whether this website is real or fake. He replied that it’s very seldom models reply. This website is more used to get contacts with agencies.

He advised me to try www.ModelMayhem.com.

So far, almost all the models I’ve contacted via this website have replied. They are all very friendly! Got one model from this site for an indoor photo shoot first week of September.

Will update you …

Cheers!

11 Responses to “Quest for a model”


  1. August 26, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Woi, I volunteer to be you model but … oh well, Ces’t la vie.

  2. 2 Angeline
    August 26, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    He needs a model with long hair, fluttery eyelashes and curves lah. Me cannot – fail on all accounts except for the long hair 🙂

  3. August 28, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Ya lah, all these French man :-P, looks like I have to grow ou my hair and wear some mascara to get some attention here.

  4. 4 geraldblondel
    August 28, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Nil: Your wife will kill me … please don’t do that … ok ok I’ll take your pictures as you are!

  5. 5 Santiago
    August 31, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Thank God…otherwise I will have to replenish my mascara every other week/month.. (btw. N has long eye-lashes and somewhat curvy too)…he he he he he

  6. August 31, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Dear geraldblondel:

    I can really feel your frustration! Moreover, after reading you article above, I think I even know of a couple of agencies you’ve dealt with!

    Oh, before I forget, I love the title to your post: ‘Quest for a Model’ insofar as that is what I do in two separate ways. One, I have a company called Modelles Casting Agency that deals with trying to place as many models, actors, actresses, comedians, all talent into the industry and try and make nice for everyone concerned.

    Two, I am a proud member of the International Model Identifying Group. At IMIG we have an international membership of folks who specialize in first name only identification of models. Seriously when one looks into the mags or periodicals, billboards, and the amount of lucrative advertising money spent…well, we got tired of everything and everyone being identified except the models. Therefore IMIG has daily contact with agencies. Whew! Enuf said there.

    On your quest you may want to look at Models.com for all aspiring talent. You may have already contacted these folks insofar as your description pretty much Id’s this company by membership. One could easily join for US $30. dollars per year get total access and not do a darn thing except spend days, months, years networking with models, photogs, creative directors, and make-up people.

    They’ve gone through some changes lately, however, I have some photog friends there that are too close to me, as well as many models. Interestingly, they have a great track record for getting people placed and in the big show.

    Jurgita is out of Canada and is owned by a former model of the same name. I believe she is either from the Balkan’s or France. She is lovely and will work with most folks I know of. You may want to look up Chantal Nadeau; former model (still working btw) and has a great placement rate. Her agency is called chantelnadeau.com to the best of my knowledge.

    I would suggest that you look at Park Avenue Peerage (site is same name) inasmuch as the photographer is a great guy, gets all the major stuff in New York and is quite the socialite.

    If just looking for databases, the Fashion Model Directory is by far the largest and then we wouldn’t want to leave out The Fashion Spot (huge and models are primary members!). There used to be…maybe still is (I haven’t been by of late) One Model Place out of Miami Beach, Florida and that was all they did…photographers and models for hire.

    As for me, my ‘Quest’ is the three models in the Bebe fall 2008 campaign to Id. I know one already, Julie Ordon; however, I am stumped with the other two. Anyway sorry for the lenght and I hope I assisted you.

    Kindest regards,

    pc

  7. 7 geraldblondel
    August 31, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Dear Paula, Thanks a lot for this information.
    I don’t know why I have never tried Models.com. I just discovered they have a pretty good models database in Asia. I will try my luck.
    Good luck for your “Quest for Baby models”.

  8. September 8, 2008 at 11:12 am

    You can try Onemodelplace too it’s quite similar to Model Mayhem.

    I find MM the best so far though, good community there.

  9. 9 geraldblondel
    September 8, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks Shaolin! Will try it. I tried http://www.models.com, but very few information on the Models.

  10. September 20, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Nice website for models.

  11. December 12, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this
    sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website.

    Studying this info So i am glad to express
    that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed.
    I most indisputably will make certain to do not overlook this web site and provides it a look
    regularly.


Leave a Reply

My Websites…

My Flickr - Latest 6

Past Musings

Where are you from?

Blog Stats

  • 26,929 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

