10
Aug
08

Flashmeter vs RAW format

Flash Master Sekonic L-358

Flash Master Sekonic L-358

Hi ! Today I would like to talk about … Flashmeter vs RAW format

Some of my colleagues interested in photography advise beginner photographer to always shoot in RAW format.

This is transforming a pleasure “the photography” into a nightmare. Frankly, what do you like? To pass one more hour taking pictures or to pass one hour modifying your picture on your computer because you messed it up when you took it.

Personally, I don’t like my computer. I want my picture to be perfect when i take it. I refuse to be bothered by correcting my exposure and transforming the RAW into JPG.

The solution … the FLASHMETER. It works inside as well as outside. You enter few parameters like Ambient Light, Flash, ISO, Shutter speed priority or aperture priority and IT’S DONE!

Put your camera in manual mode and enter the aperture and shutter speed given by your flashmeter!

Do you see the white ball on top. It’s used to measure the light on 3D objects.

Example: You want to take a Portrait of your latest girlfriend… what do you think? her face is flat (if yes, change of girlfriend) or in three dimensions? So the lighting must be measured in three dimension as well to obtain a PERFECT EXPOSURE.

So forget the RAW format, buy a flashmeter and shoot in JPG format.

Next Post will be about the White Balance …

One day, I will also tell you of the wonderful photography “supermarket” in San Francisco where I got my Sekonic.

Cheers

2 Responses to “Flashmeter vs RAW format”


  1. 1 parameswari
    August 11, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Hi Gerald,

    Thanks for the piece of advice..sorry friend i cannot go to San Franciso to get the light meter. Any clue as to where i can find one in Malaysia..and the $$$$.

  2. 2 geraldblondel
    August 11, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Hi Pam,

    If you don’t want to go to San Francisco (are you sure? it is a very beautiful city), you can go to PJ SS2 the shop is Eng Tong Systems 31 Jalan SS2/30.
    Be aware, when you arrive in front of the shop, it looks closed; you need to take the stairs on the right hand side of the shop. They are at the first floor.
    It’s not far from my home; if you are not sure, I can bring you there.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

My Websites…

My Flickr - Latest 6

Past Musings

Where are you from?

Blog Stats

  • 26,929 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

